Dog Days of Summer

 

As Ivan pointed out, I haven’t posted in awhile. I’m sorry to disappoint. The problem is that my life is generally very boring. I wake up at the same time every day, leave the house and go to work, arriving at the same time every day. I leave work, come home and take care of kids, the house, bills, and whatever else needs my attention at night. I fall into bed exhausted at nearly midnight, then I get up at 6 am and do it all over again. Blah, boring.

And then there are weeks like this past week, where the only two people in the chain of command above me at work both decide to take their vacations at the exact same time for the whole week. Every day, I dragged my tired body out of work an hour later since I spent most of the day taking care of extra duties besides my own.

On top of the extra long work day including the extra work that goes with it, it’s 112 degrees outside. It’s supposed to be 115 tomorrow. The pool feels like a giant bathtub. The air conditioner hasn’t kicked off in weeks.

It’s too hot to cook. Too hot to eat. Too hot to move. Too hot to breathe. Too hot to think.

I’m going to go take a cold shower. Oh wait, that’s right. Only hot water comes out of the water tap now no matter which knob I turn.

In December, when everyone else is complaining about how cold they are, and I’m wearing shorts and enjoying the 75 degree weather through the open windows, I will direct you back to this post and you won’t hate me quite so much.

66 Comments on “Dog Days of Summer”

  1. alantru says:

    That’s hot, hot, hot. We haven’t had summer here. We’ve had rain. Lots of rain. Bordering on the “hmm, maybe I’ll build a boat and grab the animals two by two” type of rainfall. There’s been one day where it sneaked up past 80 degrees. So far it’s the summer that never was.

    Still, if it ever does get hot, I do know this. If I was that Lovin’ Spoonful guy, I’d be shaving off those mutton chops.

  2. Claire, where are you?!? And I’ve been whining about 107 in Austin. I take it back. Is that your egg and did it fry? I should have tried this. I will when it gets back up – it’s only 101 today.

    And I only have warm water in my cold water spigot too.

  3. Donald Mills says:

    112 degrees? When I was a boy I wore a heavy sweater until it topped 140 degrees and still pulled the family plow.

    Hope your weather breaks soon for you Claire. I’ve got the same damned rain the dog-man has. My poor daylillies are damned near drowned.

    Don

  4. What, no hashbrowns??

    • Everytime I threw a potato out there, a car came by and mashed it for me. I finally gave up on the hash browns. Tomorrow, I’m going to throw some dough out there with a little cheese and sauce and make pizza.

  5. I very much feel you. It is not quite as hot here, usually in the 90’s but there is NO AC. You can’t even go anywhere that has AC, because nobody (not even the butcher shop) has it. The saving grace is that it cools down a bit at night, leaving the public pool a little cooler then it otherwise would be. (I know what you mean about the water, In Florida this time of year you could not feel any difference at all between the ocean and the air.)
    Plus here we can just drive down to the sea (which is nice and cool), so we do that often!

  6. Gryphon says:

    Take off all your clothes, pull a chair up in front of the fridge, and open the door. That’s what the Pidgin sisters told Oscar and Felix that they do. Just a thought.

    • I do believe that image would warp my kids for the rest of their lives. I’d never hear the end of it.

      “Remember when Mom wasted all of that electricity, sitting there with the fridge door open?”

      “Yeah, and after all those times she yelled at us not to stand there with the door open.”

  7. Ivan says:

    You see, there are a lot of comments on the post you’ve done just for me. Nevermind, I’m okay with sharing. Now, that routine you described as a boring day I would call a hellish day. A boring day is to go fishing and get nothing but mosquito bites.

    Most kind Claire, something must be done for you to get some part of your life back. Even our buddy Ram Venkatararam are having more fun… I would bet Satan or a lower ranked demonic creature would not trade Hades for that kind of program of yours.

    Did I make you cry? No? You laughed out loud? Alright… that’s what I’m talkin’ about… 🙂

    • See what happens when you’re late? Everyone jumps in line in front of you. You certainly did make me laugh.

      My day is boring because I’m so used to it. I need a vacation! It’s very sad that a guy in prison is having a better time than I am, although I don’t think I’m interested in trading places with him.

  8. Ivan says:

    I know everybody commented on the hot weather thing… since I mentioned hell I thought I would have made a point by that…

    By the way, here in southern Brazil is winter… way too cold I have to say…

    • I had no idea it got cold in Brazil. Wanna trade for a day? Were you in Texas during the summer? Hot and Humid is much worse than just hot.

      • Ivan says:

        I’ve lived in Texas for almost 5 years… believe, me I’ve been in hotter places…

        🙂

        Yes, it gets really cold in Brazil. We even have snow in some places. I would trade for a month. How about it?

        • Ivan says:

          by the way… its 34F outside…

          • I’ll gladly trade you for a whole month as long as it’s the month from July 15 through Aug 15.

            Issued by The National Weather Service
            Phoenix, AZ
            3:52 pm MST, Mon., Jul. 13, 2009

            … EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 8 PM MST /8 PM PDT/ TUESDAY…

            AN EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 8 PM MST /8 PM PDT/ TUESDAY.

            A STRONG HIGH PRESSURE SYSTEM COUPLED WITH BELOW NORMAL HUMIDITY WILL CONTINUE TO PRODUCE EXCESSIVE HEAT ACROSS THE AREA THROUGH TUESDAY. AFTERNOON HIGH TEMPERATURES EACH DAY WILL RANGE FROM 110 TO 115 DEGREES ACROSS THE LOWER DESERTS… INCLUDING THE CITIES OF YUMA… IMPERIAL… BLYTHE AND PHOENIX.

            PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

            IT WOULD BE WISE TO COMPLETE AS MUCH OUTDOOR ACTIVITY AS POSSIBLE IN THE EARLY MORNING WHEN THE SUN AND HEAT ARE LESS INTENSE. DURING PERIODS OF EXCESSIVE HEAT… INDIVIDUALS CAN SUFFER HEAT-RELATED ILLNESS WHEN THE BODY CAN NO LONGER COOL ITSELF.

            IF YOU PLAN TO BE OUTSIDE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME IN THE AFTERNOON OR EARLY EVENING… STAY IN THE SHADE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE AND DRINK ABUNDANT AMOUNTS OF WATER. WEAR LIGHT-COLORED AND LOOSE- FITTING CLOTHING. IF YOU WEAR A WIDE-BRIMMED HAT… YOUR HEAD AND BODY WILL BE MUCH COOLER. STOP OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES… DRINK LOTS OF WATER OR OTHER NON-ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES… AND IF POSSIBLE… SPEND MORE TIME IN AIR-CONDITIONED OR WELL-VENTILATED PLACES.

  9. I find that a boring life is the perfect setting for making things up. Unless of course it’s too hot.

  10. Bob Trusty says:

    LOSTL! its super cold here! And a bit rainy as well!

    You’re lucky that you have summertime, but it sounds a little bothersome and coupled with more work at work, it must be super bad!

    But you dont have any bosses, so surely it must be a good week without anyone looking over your shoulder, right?

    I hope you had a great weekend anyway!

    Bob

    • I had to be the boss since the bosses were gone Bob. I had to look over my OWN shoulder. And I was being so bad at work that I had to keep writing myself up.

      But that’s all over now. The bosses are back and I could almost do my own work, except now I’m training someone new.

  11. Ahhhh….it has been in the 70’s here for the past few weeks. SUCKERS!!!

  12. That reminds me, I should leave work to pick up some brakefast.

  13. Spike says:

    wow! did u fry that egg on the pavement?

  14. 115, that is crazy. How do even get comfortable? I would have to migrate to Alaska for the summer.

    • I stay in the air conditioned house until I get in the air conditioned car and drive to my air conditioned office. The only outside enjoyment right now is the pool and it’s warm.

  15. Back home (which is on the equator), we used to go down to the pool and inject ourselves with some good old Intravenous Therapy.
    It’s like someone is peeing cold urine inside of you – and it feels even better than it sounds! 🙂

    Frankelstache

  16. poemojojo says:

    i like eggs

  17. C.A.Margonper says:

    I also prefer the cooler weather. The heat makes my mind go numb. 🙂

    Claudia

  18. Hi Claudia! I know what you’re saying. The heat totally makes my brain go nuuuuuuuuuuu

  19. Tony says:

    Did the egg cook???
    It’s winter here in Tasmania, I definitely prefer cold to being too hot


Leave a Reply

