There are all of these… things… in my yard. Help!

I’ve been working 12 hour days and I get home after dark so I hadn’t noticed my yard lately. I came home in the middle of the day this week and saw my front yard for the first time in weeks.

It’s pink.

My front yard in Arizona was dirt and my back yard was rock.

Now, I have this:

The Backyard

The front yard

What do I kill first? What’s supposed to be there? What am I supposed to mow? Anybody got a lawnmower I can borrow? And will you show me how to use it?

25 Comments on “There are all of these… things… in my yard. Help!”

  1. Stay your axe/mower maa’m and wait. Let the shrubs flower and keep or remove as you feel when you see them in full bloom. As for the grass, get chickens (eggs for the shop?), a sheep (lamb etc) or send the kids to walmart for a small mower for THEM to attack what you indicate to need removal!

  2. jill says:

    You should get yourself a book 🙂 on southeastern plants. It looks like (from the quick glances) those green leafy bunches are day lilies. I think I also saw some hosta (the wide leaves). With a little bit of love and some green grass, you should have a beautiful yard!

  3. Cool tour! I’m afraid I can’t be of much help, though. When it comes to botanical things I have no clue. If we didn’t live in an apartment I would constantly be asking my wife what was a weed and what wasn’t! 🙂

  4. Bearman says:

    As I stated somewhere else, I landscaped the whole yard with perenials so I don’t have to do a thing except mulch and rake.

  5. Yep. Looks like you got yourself a bad case of “nature.” You’ll want that out of the yard as quickly as possible. It’s full of chlorophyll, bugs and pollen. Set it on fire and get to paving. Or drop a pool on top of it.

  6. Gryphon says:

    Kill NOTHING!

    It’s Carolina not Arizona. Things are SUPPOSED to be colorful and growing.

    🙂

  7. Why deal with it? Take a blowtorch to it and then replace with sand and rock.

  8. frigginloon says:

    Yep, torch the lot and then grow some spectacular fruit trees so you can hammock yourself senseless while reading a good book and sipping on a glass of wine 🙂

  9. sekanblogger says:

    Well Claire, it ain’t quite the ‘redneck yard of the month’.
    You need a couple of old broken mowers and a pickup that don’t run!


Leave a Reply

